Cycling Dominates BBC Sports Personality of the Year

Christmas is coming, the supermarkets are full of beer and its almost time for BBC Sports Personality of the Year. (Sorry) The yearly showcase of sporting talent that has the nation glued to their televisions the week before Christmas.

In an Olympic year the competition is always going to be tough and this year no less that SEVEN of Team GB's Olympic gold medallists have been included on the shortlist for the coveted prize. Amongst them Golden Boy Chris Hoy, who took three first places in Beijing, is one of four members of the dominant cycling team to make the ten-strong list, along with double gold medallist Bradley Wiggins, Nicole Cooke and Rebecca Romero.

Fellow Beijing winners, sailor Ben Ainslie and 400m gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu also make the list along with baby-faced Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton, boxer Joe Calzaghe and British tennis number one Andy Murray make up the 10. These sporting celebrities will compete for the public vote on an X Factor style live show which will be broadcast at 1900 GMT, Sunday 14 December on BBC One. So make sure to get the date in your diary, pick up the phone and lets make sure this years BBC Sports Personality is a  Lycra wearing hero and that cycling recieves all the credit it is due.  

Sir Chris Hoy – we salute you…

This entry was posted on Tuesday, December 2nd, 2008 at 10:47 and is filed under Cycling in London. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed or trackback from your own site. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>